Home > Uncategorized > Unemployment

Unemployment

I now describe myself as semi-retired rather than unemployed. Sounds better. More positive. But with the lack of suitable jobs I’m wondering if I should more correctly say I am now fully retired. Without an income stream. No pension, no superannuation. I am 47.

Alice Springs has a reputation for having heaps of work. Certainly it’s a terrific place for young people to find a full time job. And most jobs out here do pay above award wages. But since the GFC with its perceived problems the number of job ads in town has dramatically decreased. Many, if not most jobs advertised as vacant are seeking professional qualifications and experience, e.g. social workers (we need lots of those!), tradies (lots of these too) and project managers (not so many of these but enough to make the town seem vibrant and a go-ahead kind of place).

I am looking for part time work. This is for health reasons, full time work wears me down too quickly and then I’m of no use to any employer. But part time work is rare, or where offered, requires working across 5 or 6 days. I’d prefer a maximum of 4 days per week. So my choices are very limited. My choice, but it’s frustrating.

I am not eligible for Centrelink payments as I have a “domestic partner” who earns considerably more than Centrelink allows, therefore the law deems my partner to support me financially. This is something we’ve never done in our decade together. I’ve just used up the last of my savings. I now have to ask my partner for money to buy food, to pay my doctor’s bills & to buy my prescription drugs. I’m not comfortable with this.

  1. seantheblogonaut
    May 21, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    What skills do you have. I might be able to send a little work your way

    • May 21, 2009 at 1:26 pm

      Admin, reception & proofreading in recent years, with some finance (MYOB) experience. Worked for NTG, Northfuels & Childbirth Education Assoc.
      Also do online research for a few time poor clients – real estate & business analysis, union/contract negotiations etc with report writing.
      Background in enrolled nursing (left in 2005), local government (call centre) & insurance (call centre).

      My CV is haphazard as I’ve chosen to work part time or short contracts over past decade. Let me know if you want more info, and kind thanks for asking.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

