Home > Uncategorized > Reading

Reading

Jesse Kellerman. The Brutal Art which I think is a much better name for the book than The Genius which is the US title.

I’d avoided young Jesse, son of prolific author parents Jonathan & Faye Kellerman. A look at the parent’s websites and you get the feeling there’s a touch of arrogance about them. So I felt maybe the son might be a bit up himself and not really a great or good writer.

What made me pick up the book? The title. It’s unusual. And I’d have to describe the book as a startlingly different thriller. Set in New York amongst the art galleries. Told in the first person as an almost cold narrative. Intriguing, it’s sucked me in. I will be reading more of Jesse’s books. Top marks.

  1. seantheblogonaut
    May 22, 2009 at 11:10 am

    Myself I have picked up Statute of Liberty by that QC who used to do hypotheticals.

    • May 23, 2009 at 5:21 am

      Ah, Geoffrey Robertson! I must get a copy of that, it’s a short book about the need for Australia to have our own charter of human rights? I have Crimes Against Humanity sitting on my coffee table in the lounge, huge tome that it is, waiting for me to read. I’ve read parts of it years ago.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

