Home > Uncategorized > Flu shots & other meandering thoughts

Flu shots & other meandering thoughts

Psyching myself up for the flu shot tomorrow morning. Yes, I know it’s only a little needle (I’ve looked) but I am so much better at giving injections than I am at receiving them. Still, it’s only 0.5ml to be forced into my upper bicep muscle.

I thought I’d escaped having to have the annual flu shot. Haven’t bothered since I left nursing. But the past couple of winters have seen me a wee bit prone to the full range of upper respiratory tract ailments. Currently I’m swallowing twice a day these enormous sized antibiotic tablets for the sinus infection which settled in and made itself at home in a vacant sinus in my skull last week. As a consequence of the congestion, the asthma worsened. So now puffing and sucking preventers and relievers to keep the bronchials open. And a fine job that preventer is doing too, marvellous stuff. My chest feels so free and open. Anyway, the upshot of all this is that the doctor decided I really needed to have an urgent flu shot. Just to be sure.

The Domestic Partner had announced his intention to fly to Adelaide over the weekend. He was even going to bring home a house guest. But he got to Friday, I wasn’t well, he was weary and thus he cancelled his trip. So we thought we might just fly down to Dalhousie Springs for today. Unfortunately my ear began aching with the above mentioned infection and I didn’t want to risk rupturing an ear drum flying in an unpressurised plane. Next weekend is looking much better for a Dalhousie trip. Or perhaps we’ll do the decadent “let’s do Sunday lunch at the Birdsville pub” thing. That would be divine. Fingers crossed.

Domestic Partner spent most of his weekend preparing his tax files. And experimenting with some new build of local scenery for Flight Sim for one of the developers by the look at what’s on his screen. I spent my time foraging food in a supermarket, the weekly ritual of washing my clothes and then some time trying to plan the Big Road Trip for my sister. And resting. I had a couple of nanna naps. I hate nanna naps, that sleep inertia afterwards. Bleh.

Work is okay. I do wish the boss could find the time to sort through the applicants and work out the interview schedule for the permanent role. My week and a half as a casual has stretched in to more than a month now. I don’t mind the money of course. But the hours are long. I was hoping to assertively inform the office that sorry, can only do 3 or 4 days this week onwards, but they’re dreadfully short staffed this week. One of the senior staffers told me not to worry, to just work the hours I want and they would cope. But the thing is, I know that the in-tray would be left to overflow with accounts. They would be there waiting for me, thus making my fewer days at work that much busier. Wondering if I should adopt the attitude most temps have and not worry about (a) the size of the in-tray, and (b) not getting all the work done.

‘Tis a pleasant organisation to work for. Nice people, interesting mix, clients are both challenging and fun. Long term, I would be happy to continue working for them on a part-time basis. Just as long as they realize I will be taking time off in August and later again in the year for my various trips.

I am a bit concerned that, in spite of number of applicants, the boss might decide that it’d be far easier to simply hire me given as I’ve now had the training and some experience in the job. That’d be fine, except I need to know now. I’d like to have the boss sit still and quietly for more than a few minutes so I can discuss my travel needs. And discuss the fact that I really don’t enjoy doing the accounts. I can do them, quite adequately, but they’re not my favourite past time. Especially not when the boss is supposed to find the time to sign off on said accounts before I do the data entry otherwise we end up having the kind of day we had last Tuesday when it was barely controlled chaos to get the accounts entered and paid. (And then the bank stuffed up things big time but that’s not our problem or story.)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

