Home > Uncategorized > A slight pause whilst I savour the sights in the south

A slight pause whilst I savour the sights in the south

It’s Thursday afternoon, I’m packed (apart from my toothpaste)(I have two toothbrushes so one is packed) and I’m ready to fly out tomorrow morning.

First leg of my journey is by light plane (single-engined, four-seater). We’re planning on flying direct to Port Augusta (wind gods willing) where we’ll refuel and then do the short hop on to Adelaide.

I’m spending a few days in the South Australian capital with family before hopping aboard a much larger plane to Hobart (thank you to Tiger Airways for their oh so cheap fares).

Ten days in Tasmania. 🙂

I’d love to say I’m doing this wonderful, long, meandering tour of the island but I’m not. As I’m spending time with my daughter, we’re bound by her committments and unfortunately she can’t get the whole ten days off work and then she has a social obligation she must attend to right in the middle of her 5 days off. Not to worry.

What we’re going to do is a day trip from Hobart to Russell Falls in the Mt Field National Park.

On the Sunday we’re driving up to Strahan for two nights. Yes, at long last I am doing the cruise up Macquarie Harbour and into the Gordon River.

The cruise includes a visit to Sarah Island, featured in the movie Van Dieman’s Land, currently showing in selected Australian cinemas. I’m hoping to catch the movie before I do the cruise. As a friend described it to me, “beautiful but grim”.

We should have plenty of time (thanks to daylight saving!) to drive out to Ocean Beach and see the shearwaters (birds) which should be in plentiful abundance at this time of year.

On the Tuesday we’ll drive back to Hobart, sightseeing along the way.

The rest of the time will be based in Hobart. Shopping, art galleries, museums. And quality mother-daughter time.

Cheers!

  1. October 9, 2009 at 3:33 am

    Will you be flying over Wokurna?

    • November 2, 2009 at 5:40 am

      We flew between Wokurna and Snowtown, I could see all those wind farm turbines. Weather was clagging in and we had upgraded to IFR (instrument flight rules) due to increasingly poor visibility between us and the ground. I did look, and got good glimpses of the whole general area. Flying back (in a Tiger jet) on the weekend I noticed the same area is drying out rapidly.

  2. October 15, 2009 at 2:18 am

    Just checking in to see what you’re up to. Now I know why it’s gone all silent. Have a super time with your daughter and take lots of pics – I’ll look forward to seeing them when you get back:)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

