Home > Uncategorized > I’m back!

I’m back!

Flew back to Alice Springs on the weekend. Gosh but it’s surely hot in the desert now! Phew! Will take me a few days to acclimatize. 🙂

Had a terrific time away. Looked at Hobart with a more critical eye to my last visit five years ago. The Tassie capital has developed and spread with resultant increased density of traffic and noise. The Steve Irwin in Hobart port

The waterfront was still a magnificent and I got to see the Sea Shepherd’s ship Steve Irwin whilst it was in port, even got to go on board for a free tour. I am more impressed by the volunteers that sail her, it’s a job I couldn’t do. I wish the crew well and a successful season preventing the killing of whales for “research” in Antarctica this summer.

Highlight of my trip has to be the two and a half days I spent in Strahan on Tasmania’s very rugged west coast. If you’re headed to the town, you owe it to yourself to do one of the Gordon River tours. Seats can be purchased for as little as $85 and it’s well worth the money. FANTASTIC! Rugged forests, magnificent harbour, lighthouses, convict-built channel stone walls and harsh convict history. It’s all there.

I then spent a week lolling about in Adelaide. Very pleasant, didn’t do much except read Tasmanian history and occasionally wander the nearby shopping areas of Torrensville. Great food, lovely weather. Even got warm enough to go paddle my feet at the beach one day.

But it’s back to the desert now. Summer is fast approaching. My hope is to pop in here regularly to post but I am having a few health problems which put me in the mood for resting rather than writing or reading. Should be on the improve later in the week.

 

  1. November 2, 2009 at 7:54 am

    Welcome back. I have taken up lawn bowls in your absence.

    • November 3, 2009 at 7:55 am

      Lawn bowls huh? Crackerjack lives in Wokurna! 🙂

      The things you have to do when you become a country gentleman. At least it’s better than golf (IMO).

  2. November 5, 2009 at 11:00 am

    I played one game an they recruited me to second division. Thinking I might try and aim for the state team 🙂 and then on to stardom in the Australian team (possible stretching myself here though) 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

