Home > Uncategorized > I am NOT a climate change denialist

I am NOT a climate change denialist

I don’t believe an ETS (Emissions Trading Scheme) is about saving the planet from climate change.  This does NOT make me a climate change denialist.

No, I believe an ETS is all about money and preserving high-carbon polluting industries such as our coal and power generating industries in Australia. Those industries have a lot of political clout. And they’re very good at lobbying the government. And then there’s the risk of high unemployment figures if those industries have to cut their carbon emissions drastically. Those in the business are fearful of lost profits. Those who work for them are fearful of losing their jobs and not being able to pay their mortgages.

This short piece, by David Bonnici over at Group Think , whilst very cutting, pretty much sums up what I think of the ETS.

Having said all of the above, I am resigned to the likelihood of an ETS being introduced in Australia. Sadly, I don’t think it will result in any great reductions of anyone’s carbon footprint except  those who are keen and committed and willing to make an effort.

It feels like everyone is breathing a sigh of relief. An ETS will save us, we just pay more money and we can keep driving our petrol hungry cars and burn up as much electricity as we like. Ditto big time if you’re a coal-fired power generator.

To me, an ETS feels like a fake economy, a new stockmarket to play in and make big profits.

Whilst all the political kerfuffle rages on around me, I shall keep doing my little bits and pieces to reduce my own carbon footprint.

My electricity usage is 15.83kWh per day. My power bill tells me that for the past 80 days my carbon emissions for electricity comes to 862kg.

 

  1. seantheblogonaut
    November 28, 2009 at 12:36 am

    But a think most of the liberal front bench are. Heaven help us if Abbot gets in – we’ll have a choice of religious nutbag vs another

    • November 29, 2009 at 3:15 am

      As a woman who believes in freedom of choice, I could not support Tony Abbot. Tuesday morning’s fight for the leadership will be interesting.

      In the meantime I am continuing to read more on why the Greens won’t support the ETS as it stands. I also found it enlightening to listen to the interview with the CEO of Origin Energy on today’s episode of Inside Business on the ABC (video available on their website).

  2. December 2, 2009 at 7:26 am

    Well it’s happened. Things are going to be fun, 1940’s fun if the Libs can manage to topple Rudd

  3. rogerthesurf
    January 27, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    There might be global warming or cooling but the important issue is whether we, as a human race, can do anything about it.

    There are a host of porkies and not very much truth barraging us everyday so its difficult to know what to believe.

    I think I have simplified the issue in an entertaining way on my blog which includes some issues connected with climategate and “embarrassing” evidence.

    In the pipeline is an analysis of the economic effects of the proposed emission reductions. Watch this space or should I say Blog

    http://www.rogerfromnewzealand.wordpress.com

    Please feel welcome to visit and leave a comment.

    Cheers

    Roger

    PS The term “porky” is listed in the Australian Dictionary of Slang.( So I’m told.)

    • February 5, 2010 at 6:02 am

      Indeed “porky” or as more often heard, “porkies” is part of the Australian vernacular. Will visit your blog and have a read.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

