Home > Uncategorized > Fruitcake!

Fruitcake!

It was my birthday earlier this week. No big celebratory deal for me but I did think I should at least have a cake.

Given the fragility of my stomach I opted for a healthy, low-fat fruit cake. Made with pumpkin no less! It’s been years (decades) since I baked a fruit cake. It turned out well & we’re enjoying it immensely. And it has not upset my GORD (GERD) in spite of the presence of a little ginger.

Healthy, home made, easy fruit cake.

Moist Fruit Cake

3 cups (500g) mixed dried fruit – (I used an uneven mix of sultanas, raisins, cranberries, apricots & glace ginger)

½ cup of caster sugar (yes, you could use Splenda or similar sugar substitute)

1 tsp mixed spice (I used ¼ tsp each cinnamon & nutmeg)

½ cup water

1 tsp bi-carb soda

1 cup cooled mashed pumpkin (squash) (250g raw aprx) – (you could use sweet potato)

2 eggs, lightly beaten – (OR 3 egg whites)

A few drops of lemon & vanilla essences

2 cups self raising flour

Pre-heat oven to 180°C. Lightly grease a large loaf tin or 19cm round tin (or use baking paper).

Place fruit, sugar, mixed spice & water into a saucepan. Bring to boil & let boil for 3 minutes.

Stir in the bi-carb. (It will fizz.)

Stir in the cooled mashed pumpkin. (At this point I transferred mixture to a very large bowl.)

Stir in the eggs.

Finally add the flour, folding it in to the mixture. (I needed to add a wee bit more flour as it looked more like a batter than a cake mix.)

Pour the mixture into your prepared tin.

Bake for around 1 hour. Check that it is cooked all the way through by inserting a skewer into the cake – if it’s ready the skewer will come out clean.)

Let cool initially in the tin then turn out on to a rack.

Close up of the cake showing the fruit & you can even see the pumpkin fibres. No, it doesn't taste like pumpkin. At all.

I cut the cake in half (because it is heavy & large), then lengthwise followed by small slices. Then I bravely wrapped & froze most of the slices so we wouldn’t eat it all at once!

Next time I make this I will experiment with adding some nuts into the mixture.

  1. February 16, 2010 at 11:15 am

    This sounds awesome. I am going to make it this weekend. Yummo

    • February 17, 2010 at 4:25 am

      Thank you. I was quite surprised at how well it turned out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

