Home > Uncategorized > Interesting conversations

Interesting conversations

I’m still processing the odd conversation I heard at work during the past week.

It was an enlightening & interesting insight into one person’s past and brought out others’ highly positive & embracing views.

I’m left with a feeling of well, who would have thought huh?

You get used to colleagues revealing personal histories of alcohol addiction, multiple divorces & adultery. We all have hidden skeletons in our lives.

But it’s not often you hear a workmate confess to having done sex work.

I don’t have a problem with it. It’s just that I’m surprised that it’s this particular person. Like I said above, who would have thought huh?

I think it would have been highly entertaining & interesting for the conversation to have continued but alas, work intervened.

  1. June 5, 2010 at 9:45 am

    No comment. While I am intrigued I think I will let this one go. Honestly didn’t think the place could be that interesting 🙂

    • June 6, 2010 at 12:12 am

      It was a most bizarre conversation, don’t know how it started, it was all very friendly and matter-of-fact. I was tempted to join in beyond my general nodding of my head in agreement with views being expressed. But the phone rang & broke it up.

      Thinking about it all this weekend I am reminded that it never does to make judgements about others, and to always bear in mind that old saying “there but for the grace of god go I”. I hasten to add that the person in question’s experience with sex work was not forced upon them, it was a conscious financial decision. It just didn’t work for them. We’re not all cut out for plying our bodies.

      It all just made me think about life & survival.

      I will respect your wanting to let this one go Sean, but bear in mind that I no longer work in the same area as when you were in town. I’ve been moved, shuffled down a corridor, turned a corner & hidden in a quiet little office. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

